Akbar's Fort, Allahabad

Khusru Bagh, Allahabad

Akbar's Tomb, Sikandra

Purana Qila, Delhi

Sher Mandal, Purana Qila

Jahaan Numa Mosque, Old Delhi

Red Fort, Delhi

Humayun's Tomb, Delhi

Nila Gumbad, Delhi

Buland Darwaza, Fatehpur Sikri

Jahangir's Throne, Agra Fort

The Taj Mahal, Agra

Fatehpur Sikri


The Mughal Empire was the second empire, after the Maurya’s, to unify the Indian subcontinent under one political entity—extending from Bengal in the east to Balochistan in the west, Kashmir in the north, to the Kaveri basin in the south. Established in 1526 by Babur, a descendant of Genghis Khan and Timur, the Mughals erected many splendid monuments, the most famous of which is the legendary Taj Mahal at Agra, as well as Pearl Mosque, the Red Fort, Jama Mosque and Lahore Fort. The Mughals transferred the Persian literary and high culture to India, thus forming the base for the Indo-Persian culture and the Spread of Islam in South Asia.